Radical Read Along Chapter 6 and 7: Depressed, but ended in Hope

November 3, 2010 at 8:07 am 1 comment

This post is a part of my Radical Read Along series.  Linux people, be aware that there will probably only be two more posts at most in this series then it’s back to my normal weird schedule of not posting much! 😉

As I read through these, I had many thoughts.  The first one was how much is enough??  I liked that Platt pointed to the story of the rich man in Matthew 10.  Jesus told this rich guy to sell everything he had and give to the poor and you will have treasure in heaven and then told him to follow him.  Jesus exposed that this man was every attached to his riches and that he must be willing to give them all up to follow him.  Would we be willing to give up our creature comforts??  Would we be willing to go this far?

I don’t consider myself a rich man.  In fact, life is a constant struggle.  Even with the struggles I have, I have more than most people in the world will ever have.  Would I be willing to give up my house, my car, my cellphone, my family….my life?  I struggle with this.  It’s one area of my life that needs to improve.  I need to be more willing to go and lay it all on the line for Christ.

In chapter 7, Platt goes through the seven truths”

  1. All people have knowledge of God.
  2. All people reject God.
  3. All people are guilty before God.
  4. All people are condemned for rejecting God.
  5. God has made a way of salvation for the lost.
  6. People cannot come to God apart from faith in Christ.
  7. Christ commands the Church to make the gospel known to all peoples.

I totally agree with Platt in saying the first four are pretty darn depressing.  We all have knowledge of God and yet we reject him?  Sadly yes this is very true.  Even believers aren’t righteous.  In Romans 3:10 it says “There is no one righteous, not even one”.  It’s a sad fact that most people let the world get into the way when they can be good.  They justify what they do by saying things like “well, it’s not illegal!” or “everybody does it”.  Still others do far worse, but even those little things we do that aren’t right count just as much as the murderer in prison.

The wonderful thing here is God has made it possible for us to be forgiven of our sins.  Through his blood and pain, he’s paid it all.  However, we as Christians have a huge responsibility.  We need to go out and share the gospel with everyone.  That’s right.  Do we do this enough?  Are we content to send 4 billion people to hell just because we were too chicken to share a minute of our day with someone who needs to here the gospel?

I, myself, resolve to try and be better about joining Him in serving him and sharing the gospel.  While I can donate to world missions, I would love to go on one sometime in the hopefully near future (will pray about this).   While I am waiting on that answer, I will try and do a better job of this.  When a opportunity to serve the local community comes up, I will volunteer and when it doesn’t, I will try and share the gospel with as many as I can.  God commands it, so I need to do it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Radical Read Along Chapter 5 – How Can I? Ampache: Web Based Media Streamer that Kicks!

1 Comment

  • 1. Lori @ The Davidson Den  |  November 3, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I struggle with the same issues you mention. And I feel like I don’t do nearly enough. I’m often too busy to volunteer for anything. And I have never once been on a foreign missions trip, which makes me very sad. Makes me feel a bit like a fraud. I enjoyed your honest post. Thank you.


November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

