A New Approach

June 17, 2010 at 9:24 am 4 comments

Hey All!   Long time no post!  I usually post over on Gear Diary more than I do here but I decided this would be the place I talk about this.  What am I talking about??  Well, I was reading through some of Joe “Zonker” Brockmeier’s blog and came across a post that directed to a post on Linux Mag about the Party of Gno.  In this article, he specifically points out negative campaigns like the Defective by Design campaign against DRM and the Windows 7 Sins campaign that are both done by the Free Software Foundation.

First, before I share my opinion, I want to state that I support Free Software 100 percent.  Now that I have that clear, I will say this: He’s right.

At SELF, I got into a conversation about my Kindle.  I love my Kindle and I have and do buy books on Amazon for my Kindle.  Yes they have DRM on them.  I see this as acceptable.  Yeah it sucks, but the simple fact is publishers will NOT publish a book with no DRM on it at the current prices.  The publishers and the authors both deserve a piece of the pie.  They both deserve to be paid.  There’s probably nothing I can do to change the publishers to my way of thinking.  What I can do is promote places I can get DRM free content for the Kindle which it indeed supports.  You are not limited in any way to only read and use DRM’d files.   With that said, there are enough dishonest people that would think nothing of putting a DRM free copy of the latest books out there on the web.  I wouldn’t, but they aren’t protecting themselves from me, they are protecting themselves from the pirates who are not affected by the DRM whatsoever.  They are hurting the honest people like me.  The only way to fix this, in my opinion, is to quite whining about things we can’t control and make it easy and possible to manage the device on Linux and support those who do choose to use a Kindle or similar device.  At the same time, we can point users to where they can get DRM free content.  You are not going to get DRM bestsellers so the gnashing and screaming Gno at them is useless.

So, don’t feel guilty about using Ubuntu One, Dropbox, the Amazon Kindle or even older iPods.  They ALL work on Linux.  Promote free software, but don’t deride the people who choose to use a closed program or device.  Support them by saying why yes you CAN sync a iPhone with Linux now.,  You CAN move books on and off your Kindle with Linux.  You CAN put music on your Sansa Fuze with Linux.  Start telling people what Linux CAN do and not what it SHOULDN’T do.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

SELF 2010 is Going to be Awesome Radical Read Along – Chapter 1 – Wow…this IS Radical

4 Comments

  • 1. David McGlone  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Hi Joel. I was over on Linux Planet and seen your picture and I realized Your son and my son Kyle were in the scouts together over at Walnut Hill.

    I’ve been using Linux since RH 6.x but these days I’m using Ubuntu.

    What is your favorite distro?

    BTW OLF is just around the corner, do you plan to attend?

    • 2. Joel McLaughlin  |  July 10, 2010 at 3:28 am

      Hi Kyle. I remember you!

      As a member of the Linux Link Tech Show, I will definitely be in attendance at OLF. In fact, we may have something special in mind for our fans this year.

      http://tllts.org

    • 3. Joel McLaughlin  |  July 10, 2010 at 3:31 am

      Actually I remember you too David.

      Luke is still in Cub Scouts as a Webelos 2. This is his last year.

  • 4. David McGlone  |  July 10, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I wish Kyle would have wanted to stay, but he said he just wasn’t interested.

    I’ll probably be attending OLF, but can’t say for sure. Hopefully I can, even if it’s just for 1 day.


June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Flickr Photos

100_1010

100_1009

100_1008

More Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

