Robo calls…BEGONE!

March 5, 2008 at 9:42 am 2 comments

I have to say thank God the Ohio Presidential primary is over.  Now I get a few months before it all starts again.  What am I talking about??  ROBO CALLS!

Robo calls are when the candidates in yoru local elections use telemarketing firms to automatically call people to stump for their campaign.  It could be the party itself, the candidate itself or a special intrest group.  They all use this technology.

I, for one, believe most technology is good, but there’s always a way technology can be misused.  Take my beloved Internet, for example.  Many people have ruined families, themselves and even damaged others by their addictions to the internet.  The Internet can be and is used for a aweful lot of good, but it parallels society in that for almost evry good use of it, there’s a bad use too.  However, is this type of technology used in robocalls useful, or needed??   Do we really want our dinner time, our family time or even our sleep invaded by this?

Here in Ohio, the local Democratic party used a telemarketing firm to robo call voters.  Well, the firm they used made a mistake and people were called at glorious times like 2 am!  I assure you if I had received a call like this, I would have NOT voted for the candidate in the phone call.

I personally think enough is enough.  I think we all need these to end, now.   I have HAD IT with Robo calls.  This needs to end.  Now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

When Google Cache is GREAT! Review: ZaReason UltraLap SR at Gear Diary

2 Comments

  • 1. Mike  |  May 2, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    heh, yeah i got fed up with telemarketers so I installed an Asterisk server that scans the caller id when it comes in. If it’s out of province (I live in canada) or if it comes across as unknown I send the caller to a voice prompt saying “press 1 if you are NOT a telemarketer”. That way other people can still call in if they want. I have had zero telemarketers calls since then. =)

  • 2. Turkmenian  |  June 19, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Turkmenian.


March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

