Update from the CPAP Doc.

August 23, 2007 at 9:36 am

Well, I visited the doc for my first checkup after starting CPAP.  I have had only 3 nights without use of the CPAP and I never sleep without it.  I wish I had the miracle that others have, but I am not there yet.  I feel better, but not as good as I should probably feel.

One thing that the nurses and docs do is survey you on do you feel drowsy during meetings or other things like that and the score is a number.  The lower the number, the better.  I improved from a 6 to a 8.

I mentioned to the doc that I still tend to open my mouth EVEN with a chinstrap on.  The chinstrap is supposed to stop your from opening your mouth but it just plain does not work on me.  I asked the doc if I could switch masks to a full face and she said sure and I perked right up and asked for a specific mask.  She wrote up the order for it.  If you want to know, it’s a ResMed Mirage Liberty.  This has the pillows like my first mask, but has a cover that goes over my mouth so that if I open it, the air goes down the throat instead of rushing out of it ruining the therapy.

Losing weight will also help my Obstructive Sleep Apnea.  I hope to be off the machine as I continue to lose more weight.  I have lost 70 lbs thus far.

It is possible that I may not ever be able to get off of it without surgery.  Being overweight can cause OSA, but so can a whole slew of other things.

Another good thing…my BP was 118/78 which is NORMAL!  That doesn’t mean I can come off the meds, but it does mean I am heading the right direction.    I have to have low blood pressure before they change the meds.

Entry filed under: CPAP, Health, heart, High Bood Pressure.

Could Dale Jr. Race the 3 in 2008?? FAST Internet!


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

