X11 Forwarding, Exceed, Putty and SSH Tunneling

August 20, 2007 at 9:21 am

Banshee+Kopete on Windows??

Wow. Why haven’t I done this sooner??

For at least a year, I have had a license for Exceed at work. I have never thought about using it too much except for the lone Oracle install since Oracle wants/needs java to install (which pisses me off, but that’s for another post). Anyway, our new DBS who’s kind of new to the AIX environment asked how to run the oracle installer and thankfully he had a consultant with him that knew how, but then I got to thinking, why haven’t I done this with my laptop?

Started messing around and ran a couple apps and now I find it REALLY useful. For example, I run Banshee as a podcast catcher on my laptop. I now run it on my Windows machine via Exceed and I can use the BIG monitor and be able to navigate things so much easier.

The best part is it looks like Banshee is running directly on my desktop even though only the display is running on my desktop with the client running on my laptop.

Even better….when you start something playing on the desktop, it comes out on my laptop’s speakers! Now all I have to do is figure out how to get bluetooth headphones working on Linux and I can use it to listen to podcasts instead of a iPod.

Entry filed under: KDE, Laptop, Linux.

TSA Stupidity Goes UP AGAIN! Wolf Den Campout


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

100_1010

100_1009

100_1008

More Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

