Apple Silently Starting to DROP PowerPC Platforms

August 9, 2007 at 11:11 am

This week Steve Job’s announced the new iMacs, iLife ’08 and iWork ’08.  Well, the one thing that I don’t seem to remember seeing until people who still have a dual G5 1.8GHz iMac or a G4 Powerbook ran out, bought it and then discovered it’s hard coded to only run on the G5 1.9 Ghz and of course the Intel based Macs.

This, I feel, is a bit too early to do it.  Also, even though there is a big push to go “HD” there are MANY of us who have yet to take the jump.  With that said, I feel there’s still a large need to edit standard definition video.  High Definition is nice looking and all, but some things like family events don’t necessarily need to be filmed in HD.  Also, a 1.0 GHz or higher CPU CAN edit video and play video very well.  I should know…I do it.  Granted, I don’t do HD, but I still do some standard def every once in a while.

What this all boils down to is a artificial limitation.   Apple has put a artificial limitation on the software because they seem to be ready to leave the G4 and G5 owners in the dust.  Even those who bought their G4 Powerbook a month before the Intel MacBook’s came out.  The G4 itself is still a very capable processor and my Powerbook is still pretty speedy.

Yes, rendering is a bitch on my G4, but it works.  It’s slow, but it works fine.  I just start the render before bed and it’s usually done by the morning.

I am sure glad Linux does not put these limitations in…AT ALL.  Don’t believe me?  Try it.  Get a Ubuntu CD and install it on a 800 MHz machine.  Yep….it works.  Might be a bit slow, but it works.  The FOSS community DOES NOT put artificial limitations in their software.  They let US make the decision if we want a unresponsive machine.

Gee, thanks Steve.  Thanks for thinking I am a moron.

Entry filed under: Apple, Linux, PHB.

New iMac What WAS AT&T Thinkin?


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

