Lastnight I Started my Life with CPAP

May 17, 2007 at 7:01 am 3 comments

Well, I got the results of my 2 sleep studies. The first one showed I stopped breathing 11 times in one hour. My oxygen level also dropped to 86%. It should be 90%. So the doc set me up with a CPAP machine.

For those who don’t know, CPAP stands for Continuous Positive Airway Pressure. The long and short of it is you have this mask or a set of what they call pillows (what I use) that are in your nose and will blow air into your nose as you breath to keep the airway open. The upside is you don’t snore and you will feel better once you get some sleep. The downside is you have this thing on your nose and it has various straps going around your head. It will take some getting used to.

My first night with my Vigor8 CPAP machine went OK. I did not get much sleep due to my constantly having to pee last night. I think I am going to take my meds a bit early. Diovan HCT is my blood pressure medicine and there’s a diuretic component to it which makes me have to pee. ALOT! So I am going to start taking it around 8 oclock so I can do all my peeing before 11 oclock!

Anyway, I hope with CPAP and my losing weight that I may get OFF the Diovan HCT.  I am down around 304 and that’s the lowest I have weighed in years!

Entry filed under: CPAP, Doctor.

Ye flippin gods! Crazy STUPID Windows VPN Conflageration

3 Comments

  • 1. gettheconcept  |  October 12, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Thanks for your note on your CPAP experience. I am reading about other’s experiences as I am a mouth breather and am not sure with what technology I will be going with. I am anxious to get on CPAP because I had a heart attack about 8 weeks ago, and think it a strong preventive measure at this point. I was originally schedule for sleep tests prior to my heart attack. Ironically I was pressured by a friend to have the test to prevent having a heart attack, so it is that much more important.

    When had my heart attack I weighed in at 283, and the “fear factor diet” (no pop, red meats, & fried foods) has taken me down to 270 so far. I’m hoping once I get on the CPAP it might assist me farther in overcoming future weight loss plateaus.

  • 2. shan  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    I take Diovan/HCT as well and thats actually how I found your blog lol and your right …u have to pee ALOT lol How did the CPAP ever work out for you?

  • 3. gorkon  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Still on it. Making tweaks over the last few years. Finally found a mask combo that works. Still on Diovan HCT though.


May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

