Why DO I Like the iPod

April 20, 2007 at 4:16 pm

I remember some time ago the last time Adam Curry went on vacation, I made a post that I told everyone why I, a Linux user, like the iPod.  Well, let me count the ways:

  1. It plays MP3’s (most Linux zealots call MP3 bad and AAC even worse)
  2. It’s the interface stupid…(the iPod interface is often copied, but never quite the same way).
  3. Software integration(The iPod is the only player that keeps track of what I listened to between syncs…I love this)

Frankly, nothing has topped the iPod in how it works with it’s software.  Also, there’s tons of acessories that I can get for it.  A geeks dream.  the ONLY way a MP3 player can beat a iPod is to find a way to get me to change software.  My idea would be the player would just act like a thumb drive.  The software could be written in Java.  This would make it much more portable and easier to go from Linux, to Windows and to the Mac.  If someone did this AND figured out how to play iTMS purchases ( I don’t care too much about DRM….yeah it sucks, but there’s not much that can be done that isn’t being done now…) .  Anyway, that’s it in a nutshell.  It just works really well for me and I love it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fiesty Fawn Install Awaits This Weekend Feisty Fawn is released into the woods and the Lord said, it was GOOD!


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

