Stuff…..

March 26, 2007 at 8:36 pm

I wanted to write a quick post with a few things on my mind.  First, I enrolled in a class this quarter that’s titled Designing a E-Commerce Website.  I thought, intresting, but when I got the book it was even more interesting….it’s MySQL and PHP.  Even cooler.  What shocked me a bit was that the instructor said the first week would be spent installing MySQL, Apache and PHP on….WINDOWS!  Yeah….that’s what I thought.  Luckily I had asked if Linux was OK (What PHP/MySQL website DOESN’T run on Linux???) and he siad it was ok.  I had also reccomended a VMware appliance called Grandma’s LAMP.  It’s a Xubuntu based VMware appliance with XFCE desktop and the standard LAMP set.  Suggested that studnets can check that out as a proper way of doing MySQL/PHP.

Next is an experience I had with Windows at work.  I have just received a fine Lenovo desktop with a Core 2 Duo and all the trimmings.  I JUST got it last week and was working away today and all of a sudden a virus thing popped up….I looked where it found it and it was in the Yahoo Widget application and I thought…hmm…that’s weird.  Did some poking around and it ends up Symantec has a false positive on a file in their app for VirusBlast.  If you’ve seen this too, you should be getting a update soon to the signatures that fix NAV.  This sucks and is one reason I hate Windows.

Entry filed under: Linux, Ubuntu, Vmware.

Trying Feisty Fawn FLOSS Weekly with Jon “Maddog” Hall


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

100_1010

100_1009

100_1008

More Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

