This Weekend Officially Sucks…

March 4, 2007 at 8:25 am

The weekend started off rough on Friday. Things went wel a day and I was sticking to my panned scale down in my diet and I even put 45 minutes on the treadmill. Then, it all started to go down hill…

The wife calls in tears as I am leaving. My son is being a total terror and is being belligerent and hitting her and not listening to her and more. So I stew on the bus while I listen to the tech show. Good show guys. Anyway, I finally get home and I start talking to my son. Meanwhile, while my wife was getting ready to go to work Friday, she trips and falls on her knee over a pair of my son’s pants that he left in the hallway when he stripped. She can’t get up. Finally she pulls her self up and can’t put any weight on her one leg. We manage to get her dressed and back and forth to work. She lays down and hopes it gets better over night. It doesn’t, so we call the Dr. in the morning and they can’t get her in til Monday (why is that???). So we pack everyone in the van and drive down to Urgent Care where she gets X-Rays (nothing’s broke…thank god) and she gets scripts for good pain killers and gets told she needs to see a orthopedist in a week. It’s at this point, I realize my training trip is canceled. There’s no way I can go to Chicago with a wife who can only get around, somewhat, on crutches and a son. So I call the boss, tell him what to do and we get things canceled. Hopefully the college loses no money. Airline gives me credit on my ticket which id all is well I use in June.

Also, Saturday, I get another health whammie. My LDL is high (122) and my Dr. says if I can’t get it any lower, I need to go on Zocor. There’s also a diet I need to follow. It had 2 pages. One page with everything I like to eat and another with only some things I like to eat. Well, it seemed that way. So I have to curtail almost everything and I HAVE to exercise.

Needless to say, I am very depressed at the moment. I only hope that the depression is relieved a little when I go see my son get his Tiger Badge later today.

As I leave this post off, I want to remind everyone if you don’t get a yearly physical, make sure you do! If you don’t, your first visit to a doctor may be to the one in the emergency room as you just had your first heart attack. Also, don’t eat at McDonalds, Wendy’s, Chipotle, Jack in The Box, White Castle, Taco Bell or pretty much ANY fast food place and watch what you eat at other, nicer restaurants. Sodium content is VERY high in these types of foods. To give you an idea, a Chipotle Burrito with Rice, Black Bean, Barbacoa, Cheese, and Red tomatillo salsa has the following nutritional content:

Chipotle Nutrition Facts
Serving Size:
1 Burrito

Amount Per Serving

Calories 1243 Calories from Fat 469
% DV*
Total Fat 53g
Saturated Fat 20g
Cholesterol 144mg
Sodium 3171mg
Total Carbohydrate 124g
Dietary Fiber 9.5g
Sugars 3g
Protein 66g
Vitamin A 106%
Vitamin C 4%
Calcium 50%
Iron 22%

Chipotle Nutrition Results provided by:
Chipotle Fan.com

This is almost TWICE the Sodium most people should eat in a day. It also has 1200 calories. Restaurants should be shutdown for serving poison like this.

Fat content is usually not great either. Stick to chicken, turkey, pork the most and have beef only in lean cuts. Lunchmeat is also out as it’s way to salty.

So what can you eat? Well, follow the DASH diet. It’s good for most people with HBP (check) and high cholesterol (check). Even with recipes on these diets, you have to watch how much you eat. Keep your calories down and exercise. This isn’t just coming from me and it’s something that is going to be pretty hard for me to combat. The thing I need is encouragement and prayer. I am going to lick this thing and I want to live until I am 80 or 90 if I can. All I need is to be dedicated to the fact that I don’t want to have a heart attack in 10 years.

Entry filed under: fat, Health, heart, injury, knee, sodium.

Just had my Physical….when was yours?? Happy Daylight Savings Time Day


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

