Nokia 770: The Best Linux PDA. Period.

December 19, 2006 at 8:53 pm

Over the weekend I just purchases a Nokia 770 Internet Tablet. This runs on TI’s OMAP processor and runs a form of Debian Linux called Maemo. So far I have not found anything I can’t do with it yet that I wanted to do. I am waiting on my 2 GIG RS-MMC card from Amazon to get here before I really start to do things like watch video or listen to OGG’s on it. I’ll post neat things I find on the web here as well as I learn about using this new and intresting hardware platform. I think Nokia has a winner here and in a few years see this as being succesful. Nokia’s already hard at work on the sequal to this device, the Nokia 870. The 870 is reported to have switched from RS-MMC to MiniSD (thank you Nokia) and also has 2 of these MiniSD slots! One is internal (near the battery) and the other is externally acessible. This tells me that if it ships with a card, you will likely have it already loaded and it will be used for the swap file either in a swap partition or possibly just a swap file. Anyway, I am looking forward to this device.

I showed a geek accountant (is there such a thing??) my 770 and she was drooling and saying she wanted one! 😀 Anyway….stay tuned to the blog. More to follow!

Entry filed under: 770, Debian, Internet, Linux, Maemo, Nokia, Tablet.

Hello world! Life in Ohio Episode 39


December 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Flickr Photos

Pages

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

